Bodo Agreement

Delhi: The Government of India signs a tripartite agreement with representatives of all factions of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) banned from the Ministry of the Interior (MHA); Interior Minister Amit Shah and Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal former member of Rajya Sabha and United People`s Party Liberal (UPPL) Chief Urkhao Gwra Brahma, who played a key role in the drafting of the agreement, said the 34-year-old political struggle of the NDFB ended with “honourable political agreement.” Improving the funding system and strengthening basic democracy by introducing village and city councils into the BTR is another important provision of the agreement, he said. This would facilitate equal participation of non-Bodo communities in the governance of the BTR by elected municipal councillors. The UPPL has seven members at the BTC. Shri Shah said that the territorial integrity of Assam is guaranteed by this agreement, because each Bodo group is on board. He stressed that in the past, the Northeastern states felt neglected, but modi assured that an EU minister would visit the region weekly to ensure effective implementation of government programs and to complete infrastructure projects in a timely manner. “All of Bodo`s interest groups have signed this agreement and reaffirmed assam`s territorial integrity,” said Minister of State Himanta Biswa Sarma in Delhi. On 2 January 2020, the EU government signed the historic Bodo peace agreement with the Bodoland National Democratic Front (NDFB), one of Assam`s dangerous militant groups. The All Bodo Student Union (ABSU), which has long called for the Bodo state, also signed the treaty. With this agreement, more than 1,500 armed cadres will be violent and join the mainstream. The EU government will provide, through a three-year prize, a special development package of 1,500 kronor for specific development projects in the Bodo areas.

Following an agreement reached in 1993, Bodoland became an autonomous administrative unit, constituted under the sixth plan of the Indian Constitution, with an area of 8,795 km2, managed by the Bodoland Autonomous Council. The Indian government has signed three agreements with the Bodo tribes over the past 27 years. Several clashes between assam extremist groups and the government have claimed the lives of hundreds of people. This agreement resulted in the creation of a Bodoland Autonomous Council with political powers. The second agreement resulted in the creation of a Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) with four districts: Udalguri, Chirang, Baska and Kokrahar. These areas are commonly referred to as the Bodoland Territorial Area (BTAD). The Union`s Minister of the Interior, Amit Shah, and Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal were present when the Centre signed the tripartite agreement with representatives of banned groups.

نمایش بیشتر

نوشته های مشابه

همچنین ببینید

دکمه بازگشت به بالا